5 ways to be less sedentary at work

My internship started this week and so far it’s been really enjoyable, even though I need to get up  somewhat early. It’s been a bit time consuming juggling it with waitressing and running, but I like being busy and I’m learning a lot. I’m mostly working with social media and writing a bit, so I’m hoping to get a byline in the magazine.

Because most of my work involves the computer, I find myself sitting for a few hours, which I HATE. I need to be moving around and active, so being sedentary for a while has me squirming. Since I have tasks that need to be completed, I’ve come up with a few ways to get moving for a short while.

Screen Shot 2015-06-03 at 11.31.19 PM

1. Set a timer. By setting a timer on you phone or computer every hour or so, it will remind you that it’s time to walk around for a bit when you’re super concentrated on a project. It’s important to keep those legs moving every two hours for blood flow and a short walk around the office will freshen your brain and creativity.

2. Drink a TON of water. More liquid equals more trips to the bathroom, so you’ll definitely get moving every time you walk to take a leak. Also you should be getting at least 8 cups a day, so fill up your Camelback, tea mug, or sip on your favorite (healthy) energy drink.

3. Get a fitness tracker. Although they can be pricy starting at about $100, these trackers count steps and give you a goal to meet. Wearing one on your wrist can remind you to get moving, plus some of them even tell you when you’ve been sitting for too long — talk about a motivator.

4. Stand while you work. If possible, try and stand while you type on the computer or write down notes. It burns more calories than sitting and you can shift side to side on your feet while you work to get the blood flowing. If it’s in your budget, get a standing desk that will make it easier.

5. Walk to your coworkers. It may seem quickest to write an email or call a coworker when you have a question or need something done, but you could easily get more movement in by walking to their desk to talk to them. This is also a great way to build personal, face-to-face relationships.

Leave a comment