Early Birthday Celebration

Helloooooo all!

As you may or may not know, this Friday I am turning the big 2-0, which is so crazy. 20 sounds wayyyy older than 19, so I’m feeling more and more like an (actual) adult. Since I will be spending part of my birthday finalizing packing (we’re leaving for North Carolina the next day for vaycay) and seeing a Taylor Swift concert later that night (eeeeeeee!), my friends and I decided to do a mini celebration yesterday.

We headed out 30 minutes to Westport for some shopping, walking and eating. I needed some tea, so we went to my favorite loose-leaf tea store DavidsTea. I stocked up on some matcha and an almond, cinnamon spice tea called Alpine Punch. I also picked up and iced Birthday Cake soy latte as my first treat of the evening.

unnamed-1

We wandered our way to a few more shops before getting dinner at the Granola Bar. It’s a healthy, local and organic restaurant with a casual feel. They have a ton of breakfast, smoothies and, of course, granola bars that I am dying to try out as well as salads and sammies that all looked divine. It’s perfectly divided for take out or dining, so if I’m ever dropping by the area I’ll definitely grab some salads for lunch.

dsc7541merge

We started out with a kale artichoke dip that wasn’t as dippy as I expected and I found myself using a fork to scoop it onto my pita chips. But, it was still yummy nonetheless.

unnamed-2

For dinner I had a vegetarian bolognese that was SO SO good. It was loaded with roasted veggies on top of spaghetti squash instead of pasta with red sauce. It had the veggie overload that I love and was filling but didn’t make me feel stuffed the way I do when I normally eat pasta dishes.

unnamed-3

Afterwards we were on a mission to take a quick stroll on the nearby Compo Beach, which was a lot harder than expected. Almost all of the parking is for private owners or you needed a pass that was $30. We even encountered a woman that rudely explained to us we would receive a $75 fine if we parked. Come on — we literally just wanted to walk around for 10 minutes!!

Finally, we found two hour parking and got to walk around and dip our toes in the water. It had been hot and humid all day and we were in the mood to be by the cool shore, so it was absolutely perfect. The view was amazing and the houses by the water were gorgeous. If I could afford it, I would live there in a heartbeat.

unnamed-5

We also did a little, silly photo shoot while walking.

unnamed-4(Excuse my strange, crooked duck feet)

unnamed-6

unnamed-7

It was a lovely evening filled with lovely friends and I’m so grateful to have them in my life and to share these experiences with them.

unnamed-8

Where do you like to go for birthday celebrations?

Leave a comment