Cauliflower rice bowl

Wow, it’s been a while. So sorry! I’ll be better, I promise.

Recently, I’ve been caught up with transitioning back to school, doing homework and working on the school paper, but I did have time to make a new logo (let me know if you like it!) and I have been fairly active and eating clean since I’ve gotten back to school, which means more ideas for posts.

Right now, I’m living in an apartment off-campus that’s about a 25 minute walk, so I’ve been moving quite a bit. Also, I am completely off my school’s meal plan, so I have been experimenting with a ton of different meals (mostly involving veggies). Last night, I made the most amazing cauliflower dish that every definitely needs to try! It’s a great way to sneak in veggies by substituting ground up cauliflower for rice. Check it out:

Cauliflower rice bowl

Serves 2

IMG_8562

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces of extra-firm tofu, pressed
  • 1/2 head of cauliflower
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 medium onion, finely diced
  • Juice of 1/2 of a lime
  • 2 cups baby spinach, chopped
  • 1 avocado, cubed
  • Sriracha to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Cut the tofu in 1-inch cubes and spread on the baking sheet. Bake for 8 minutes, flip and bake for 8 more, so the tofu is a crispy brown.
  3. While the tofu is baking, start the cauliflower rice by placing florets into a food processor and pulsing until it reaches a rice-like consistency.
  4. Heat oil on a skillet with olive oil, onion and garlic on med-high heat and cook for 4-5 minutes.  Add the cauliflower rice and squeeze in the lime juice, stirring to prevent burning, for 10-12 minutes or until it is lightly brown. Add spinach and cook till it is slightly wilted.
  5. Divide between two bowls. Top with tofu and avocado. Drizzle with Sriracha to taste.
  6. Enjoy!

Leave a comment